The building of the metro was opened in 1972. With the renovations starting in 2015, several new works of art were placed on the square. A gigantic map can be seen at the entrance of the metro station spreading out in the shape of a fan - an artwork designed by Anna Baróthy and S’39 Group (the digital version replacing the former iconic clock of the square was also designed by them). The sizable map was inspired by the military blind map of Pest-Buda from 1823. They marked the location of the square as it is today with a silver-colored amorphous patch, presumably as a reference to the former clay mine. We can also learn that a military building (a barrack or prison) stood on the place of today’s Szabadság tér at the time.
Fedezd fel a környéket
Check out the recordings made in 1972 about the entrance hall of the metro station while it was still under construction!